2022-2023 District Principal and Teacher of the Year

District Principal of the Year - Mr. Jeff Boyles, Sandy Ridge Elementary School


Mr. Jeff Boyles


Mr. Jeff Boyles earned his Bachelor of Science in Physical Education from Catawba College and his Master of Science in Physical Education and Recreation from Emporia State University.  He earned his Masters in School Administration Degree from Appalachian State University.  

Mr. Boyles is a product of Stokes County Schools and his educational journey began in 2002.  His previous educator roles include math tutor at the middle school level, substitute teacher at South Stokes High, Star/In-School Suspension Teacher at West Stokes High, and Assistant Principal at Chestnut Grove Middle.

Mr. Boyles was named Principal at Sandy Ridge Elementary in 2015.  Under his leadership, Sandy Ridge has consistently resulted in high student academic growth in every grade level.  Mr. Boyles said his objective is to place students and teachers in a situation that will inspire them to achieve their potential and beyond while impacting the community to last a lifetime.  

District Teacher of the Year - Ms. Abigail Westmoreland, Poplar Springs Elementary School 
Abbey Westmoreland
Ms. Abbey Westmoreland is a third grade teacher at Poplar Springs Elementary.  She earned her Bachelor of Science degree in elementary education from East Carolina University. She is a product of Stokes County Schools and is in her fifth year of teaching. 

Ms. Westmoreland’s philosophy for her classroom is to establish an inviting, vibrant, safe learning community.  She believes it is her job to help meet the needs of all students’ learning styles through differentiated instruction.  It is her hope that all her students will know they are worthy, accepted and loved by me.  My students are my WHY.  

Together is the best place to be and we are fortunate to work in a county where the relationships are strong, but we must keep on for our kids.